the strangest thing

Everybody loves Stranger Things. That is, everybody but me.

If you haven’t heard yet, Stranger Things is a Netflix Original show that’s been sweeping the internet. Everybody is obsessed. So, almost two months ago, I decided I would give it a try. It has now been months, and I am about ten minutes into the sixth episode. I don’t plan to go any farther.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate the show. I’m just disappointed. Everybody raves about it, but I’m not invested. I have given the show numerous chances, so what’s up?

When I watch a show, I want it to grip me. I want compelling characters that I can get invested in, a rich storyline that keeps me watching, and I want potential for it to stay that way. When I watched the first episode of Stranger Things, I was hesitant. This didn’t seem like the type of show I would usually watch, but it had some potential. So I watched on. Episodes two and three seemed to be more of the same, a holding out for something to go down. Soits a no from me.gifmething needed to click, something that got me invested in those characters. But it wasn’t happening.

Then we got to episodes four and five, the middle of the season. By this point, something should have gotten me invested. I can see where some people might have gotten into it, but not me. For some reason it’s still a no.  Not invested in any of the characters, the storyline, nothing at all. It almost feels like a chore to watch it.

This show just isn’t doing it for me. I want that compulsion, that addictive quality. Watching episodes should be easy. They should fly by; I shouldn’t be sitting and checking how much time is left every five minutes because I just want it to be over. When I finished episode five, there was what should have been a huge cliffhanger. I should have wanted to watch the next episode right there and then but instead I switched shows after only one episode. I picked it up again almost two and a half weeks later, after watching two seasons of another show, going on vacation, and keeping up with everything currently on air. Even then, it was only because I felt like I owed it to the show, and I didn’t have anything better to watch. Ten minutes later, I turned it off from lack of interest.

I’m sorry, Stranger Things. I gave it a shot, tried something different. But this isn’t working out. It’s not you, it’s me. I’ve found somebody else, and its name is Orphan Black. It’s new and interesting, and I watched an entire season in a day over the weekend. You just don’t do it for me, so I’m breaking up with you. It’s the best for both of us. This is the end. We shouldn’t see each other again.

Goodbye, Stranger Things.

Leave a Reply

