review: crazy ex-girlfriend season 1

This show is certifiably crazy.

Over the past few weeks, I have had the chance to watch the first season of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. I was looking for something funny that I’d enjoy, a lighthearted comedy. But boy, I had no idea what I was signing up for.

The show is based on a woman who leaves her New York job at one of the best law firms in the country to move to California — all because one day she ran into her ex from a summer camp when she was sixteen. She follows him to his hometown, and gets a job at a local firm, while attempting to make him fall in love with her. As if this isn’t insane enough, the show is also a musical.

Now, I went into this knowing I would either like it a lot or hate it with my entire soul. I watched the first two episodes, and I was hooked. The songs were entertaining, and while they wouldn’t particularly be something I would get stuck in my head, they were definitely creative. But what really kept me watching was the incredible ease with which many social issues are tackles within the story.

One long-standing flaw in Hollywood is the lack of POC representation, especially in in leading roles. The main love interest in this show is Filipino. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen any character portrayed as explicitly Filipino, much less a love interest. The way this is seen as completely normal is vastly different from the Hollywood norm, something which I found to be fantastic.

This show also touches on mental illnesses, and in an accurate way. Rebecca, the main character, is brutally honest at times, which can be both hilarious and powerful in pointing out flaws in social norms. At one point, she completely calls out the fact that mental illness shouldn’t be romanticized, and she is very up front about her problems, even if she is hesitant about getting help.

But my absolute favorite part of the writing of this show is the complete nonchalance about characters’ sexualities. One of the characters on the show is gay, but it’s never made into a big deal. In fact, the first time we hear of it is twelve episodes in.

“You’re gay? Nobody’s ever mentioned that.”

“Uh, well, everybody knows. It’s not a big deal.”

The character is completely comfortable in who he is, and isn’t the stereotypical gay character you’d see in media, and that just  made me really happy.

There’s also a character who comes out as bisexual during the course of the season. His struggles are shown somewhat, but not made into a big plot point. He is a middle-aged man, who honestly doesn’t know anything about LGBT culture (at one point he calls himself a “bothsexual”), and he ends up becoming comfortable with himself. At one point, he comes out to his law firm, and is met with little to no reaction. He is asked by one person why he doesn’t just go one way or the other, to which he takes a firm stance against. His portrayal as a whole is one of the most accurate and groundbreaking visions of a bisexual person in modern television, and I am a big fan of it.

Though I do love this show for the social content, it also has to be one of the funniest shows I’ve ever watched. It’s absolutely hilarious, and at some points I couldn’t stop laughing for a minute straight. Overall, this show is funny, innovative, and refreshing. I’d recommend giving it a try, it may seem a little crazy but you won’t want to break up with it.

Leave a Reply

